Stephin Merritt Announces New Album and Career-Spanning Anthology with Future Bible Heroes

Stephin Merritt Announces New Album and Career-Spanning Anthology with Future Bible Heroes
In the decade-plus since Stephin Merritt released his last album as Future Bible Heroes (2002's Eternal Youth), the busy songwriter has released a string of Magnetic Fields discs, a Gothic Archies LP, and works under his own name. Now, he has returned to Future Bible Heroes for a new record. Partygoing is out on June 4 through Merge.

Merritt composes all the lyrics and melodies for Future Bible Heroes and is accompanied by Christopher Ewan (who handles instrumental duties) and Magnetic Fields staple Claudia Gonson (who sings lead). This album announcement confirms promises Merritt made last year regarding his plans for the project.

These 13 songs address the ups and downs of partying, and a press release notes, "Partygoing features the signature Future Bible Heroes mix of dancefloor-filling club anthems and super-sad ballads."

Single "Living, Loving, Partygoing" falls somewhere in between these two extremes. Listen to it at the bottom of this page.

On the same day that this stand-along album drops, Merge will release a four-disc CD collection bringing together all of Future Bible Heroes' past works. The logically titled Memories of Love, Eternal Youth and Partygoing includes all three of the band's albums, plus an additional disc on non-LP cuts (culled from EPs and various compilations).

See the tracklist for Partygoing below, and scroll past that to see the tracklists for the remaining discs.

Partygoing is available to pre-order here while Memories of Love, Eternal Youth and Partygoing can be ordered here.


1. A Drink Is Just the Thing
2. Sadder than the Moon
3. Let's Go to Sleep (And Never Come Back)
4. Satan, Your Way Is a Hard One
5. A New Kind of Town
6. All I Care About Is You
7. Living, Loving, Partygoing
8. Keep Your Children in a Coma
9. How Very Strange
10. Love Is a Luxury I Can No Longer Afford
11. Digging My Own Grave
12. Drink Nothing But Champagne
13. When Evening Falls on Tinseltown

Memories of Love:

1. Lonely Days
2. She-Devils of the Deep
3. Hopeless
4. Death Opened a Boutique
5. You Pretend to Be the Moon
6. Blond Adonis
7. But You're So Beautiful
8. A You You Never Knew
9. Real Summer
10. Memories of Love
11. You Steal the Scene

Eternal Youth:

1. Losing Your Affection
2. The Slow Fade
3. Doris Daytheearthstoodstill
4. A Thousand Lovers in a Day
5. Bathysphere
6. I'm a Vampire
7. From Some Dying Star
8. Viennese Lift
9. Smash the Beauty Machine
10. The Control Room
11. Find an Open Window
12. Kiss Me Only with Your Eyes
13. Jakarta
14. No River
15. Cartoon
16. The World Is a Disco Ball

The EPs:

1. O! What a Dream It Was
2. Hopeless (Stephin vocal)
3. Love Is Blue
4. How to Get Laid in Japanese
5. I'm Lonely (And I Love It)
6. My Blue Hawaii
7. Cafe Hong Kong
8. Good Thing I Don't Have Any Feelings
9. Don't You Want Me?
10. The DJ from Outer Space
11. The Lonely Robot
12. Mr. Punch
13. Hopeless (remix)
14. Berlin on $10 a Day