Soundtrack for 'Moonlight' Set for Release

BY Brock ThiessenPublished Oct 19, 2016

After rightly impressing the hell out of both fans and critics alike on the festival circuit, Moonlight is set to get its wide release on Friday (October 21) via A24. Luckily, that same day will mark the arrival of the soundtrack as well.

Coming via Lakeshore Records, the soundtrack scored by Nicholas Britell will see its digital release on Friday, with a CD release slated to follow on November 25 and then a vinyl version after that.

Along with Britell's score, the soundtrack features songs by Goodie Mob, Boris Gardiner and Barbara Lewis, as well as a piece by Mozart. Though as anyone fortunate enough to already see the film knows, it's Britell's stunningly beautiful work that's the real draw here.

As for the film itself, Moonlight comes at the hands of rising director Barry Jenkins. It follows the story of a young black man's struggle with identity and his own sexuality, with it all told through three defining chapters of his life.

As we stated in our TIFF review, "Moonlight focuses on ideas of identity and masculinity amongst LGBTQ African-American and Hispanic-American men — a topic that the light of the silver screen has seldom touched."

Ultimately, we wrote, "Jenkins has created an emotional portrait of not only being a black gay man in America, but the African-American identity and experience as a whole."

You can read our review here and check out the tracklist to the Moonlight soundtrack below, where you'll also find a trailer for the film.

Thanks to Film Music Reporter for the tip.

Moonlight OST:

1. Every N****r Is a Star – Boris Gardiner
2. Little's Theme
3. Ride Home
4. Vesperae Solennes de Confessore – Laudate Dominum, K. 339 (Excerpt) – Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
5. The Middle of The World
6. The Spot
7. Interlude
8. Chiron's Theme
9. Metrorail Closing
10. Chiron's Theme Chopped & Screwed (Knock Down Stay Down)
11. You Don't Even Know
12. Don't Look at Me
13. Cell Therapy – Goodie Mob
14. Atlanta Ain't But So Big
15. Sweet Dreams
16. Chef's Special
17. Hello Stranger – Barbara Lewis
18. Black's Theme
19. Who Is You?
20. End Credits Suite
21. Bonus Track: The Culmination


Latest Coverage