Small Sins Leader Thomas D'Arcy Announces Debut Solo Album

Small Sins Leader Thomas D'Arcy Announces Debut Solo Album
Earlier this year, Small Sins main man Thomas D'Arcy announced that he had folded the project and would instead be embarking on a solo career. As expected, he's now announced his first album under his own name. What We Want will be out on February 5 through Thomas D'Arcy Music/MapleMusic Recordings.

The 11-song collection was mixed by four different people: John McEntire (of Tortoise and the Sea and Cake), Jeremy Darby (Lou Reed, Memoryhouse, Kathleen Edwards), Alexander Bonenfant (Crystal Castles, METZ) and D'Arcy himself

A press release explains, "What We Want brings together 11 new tracks replete with some trademark elements D'Arcy is best known for: slow but dramatic builds, hooky vocal melodies laden with scores of overdubs and some big sonic risks."

Scroll past the tracklist below to listen to a two-song stream of "I Can't Wait" and "I Wake Up Every Day." These appear on the album as the first two tracks. The opener is mellow and atmospheric, and segues directly into the latter, which is more percussive and poppy.

D'Arcy will launch the album with a release show on February 5 at Toronto's Horseshoe Tavern. Expect more tour dates to be announced before long.

What We Want:

1. I Can't Wait
2. I Wake Up Every Day
3. The Price You Pay
4. Credit!
5. Talking on the Phone
6. Love Will Bring Me Down
7. When We Get in to It
8. Help Me Clear My Mind
9. Goodbye My Friend
10. What We Want
11. My Time Is Short