Sleaford Mods Return with New Album 'UK Grim'

Dry Cleaning's Florence Shaw, and Perry Farrell and Dave Navarro of Janes Addiction contribute

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Jan 17, 2023

Sleaford Mods have detailed a new album. The duo of vocalist Jason Williamson and producer Andrew Fearn will share UK GRIM on March 10 via Rough Trade.

Following 2021's Spare Ribs, the 14-track UK GRIM finds the Mods joined by Dry Cleaning's Florence Shaw and Perry Farrell and Dave Navarro of Jane's Addiction on what is called their "most dancefloor friendly release to date" by press materials — one that's "as much a celebration of individuals and the idealists as it is an attack on ruling classes" of the duo's home nation.

"Maybe we are proud of the country. Maybe we are proud to be English," Williamson says in a statement. "Maybe I'm proud of the horrible grey streets and the shit weather and the stupid fashions I find myself investing in. It's just that the English we're proud of being is absolutely nothing like the English the authorities want to try and promote."

The opening title track is the first song to arrive from the new album, and you can hear it below alongside a video directed by British collage artist and satirist Cold War Steve.

In 2021, Williamson shared two songs with the Bug.

Pre-order UK GRIM.


2. D.I.Why 
3. Force 10 From Navarone (feat. Florence Shaw)
4. Tilldipper 
5. On the Ground 
6. Right Wing Beast 
7. Smash Each Other Up 
8. Don 
9. So Trendy (feat. Perry Farrell & Dave Navarro)
10. I Claudius 
11. Pit 2 Pit 
12. Apart From You 
13. Tory Kong 
14. Rhythms of Class

Latest Coverage