Shuggie Otis Details 'Inspiration Information'/'Wings of Love' Reissue

Shuggie Otis Details 'Inspiration Information'/'Wings of Love' Reissue
Shuggie Otis previously announced plans to unveil an expanded reissue of 1974's Inspiration Information and hit the road in 2013, and, sure enough, the songwriter has detailed the upcoming archival release.

The expanded Inspiration Information will be out on April 16 via Epic Records/Legacy Recordings. This confirms the details previously listed on Amazon.

Disc one of the double-CD package will include the original nine-song album, plus four unreleased bonus tracks. On disc two is a 14-song album called Wings of Love, which was originally planned as the follow-up to Inspiration Information but never saw the light of day. According to the press release, the songs range from stripped-down tunes to more epic, sprawling material. They were recorded between 1975 and 2000.

In a statement, rock journalist Chris Campion, who wrote the liner notes for this reissue, described Wings of Love's theme as "the romantic, lovelorn teenager, who has now grown up and matured, lived and learned, sometimes hard lessons, but never in vain. He's no longer just dreaming of an idealized love, but has found it, tasted it for real and now has to work out how to get it and/or keep it."

Before the reissue arrives in stores, Otis will hit the road in North America. Scroll past the tracklist to see the schedule.

Inspiration Information/Wings of Love:

CD 1 - Inspiration Information

1. Inspiration Information

2. Island Letter

3. Sparkle City

4. Aht Uh Mi Hed

5. Happy House

6. Rainy Day

7. XL-30

8. Pling!

9. Not Available

10. Miss Pretty *

11. Magic *

12. Things We Like to Do *

13. Castle Top Jam *

* Previously unreleased

CD 2 - Wings of Love

1. Intro

2. Special

3. Give Me Something Good

4. Tryin' to Get Close to You

5. Walkin' Down the Country

6. Doin' What's Right

7. Wings of Love

8. Give Me a Chance

9. Don't You Run Away

10. Fireball of Love

11. Fawn

12. If You'd Be Mine

13. Black Belt Sheriff

14. Destination You!

Tour dates:

1/10 New York, NY - Highline Ballroom
2/23 Mexico City, Mexico - Plaza Condesa
3/23 Sydney, Australia - Enmore Theatre
3/24 Melbourne, Australia - Hamer Hall
3/26 Brisbane, Australia - Tivoli Theatre
3/28 Byron Bay, Australia - Bluesfest
3/29 Byron Bay, Australia - Bluesfest
3/31 Toyko, Japan - Billboard Live
4/1 Toyko, Japan - Billboard Live
4/14 Toronto, ON - Phoenix Concert Theatre
4/17 Chicago, IL - Lincoln Hall
4/18 New York, NY - B.B. King's Blues Club
4/21 Washington, DC - Howard Theatre
4/23 Seattle, WA - The Triple Door
4/24 Seattle, WA - The Triple Door
4/26 San Francisco, CA - Mezzanine