Shadowy Men on a Shadowy Planet's Don Pyle Recruits Dallas Good, Sandro Perri for Debut LP as Black Heel Marks

BY Alex HudsonPublished May 17, 2013

In recent years, Don Pyle has reunited with his old surf rock band Shadowy Men on a Shadowy Planet, documented Toronto's punk scene with a photo book and lent his skills as a producer to more than a few bands. Now, the Canadian music vet is preparing a debut album with a mysterious project called Black Heel Marks, whose Feel Free album is out June 25 through Northern Research/Outside Music.

The album's press materials are quite vague in regards to the group's membership, but Pyle is credited with producing and directing Feel Free, in addition to playing drums and synths. Other performers on the album include Dallas Good of the Sadies, Sandro Perri, KP Kendall of Girl Trouble, Kevin Lynn and Kevan Byrne of King Cobb Steelie, Dave Evans of the Soupcans, Jonny Dovercourt of Republic of Safety, Wilmer Henderson III, Alanna Stuart of Bonjay, and more.

A press release describes the album like this: "Thirteen songs clang and gyrate in the uncomfortable brackish of electrified digital rock'n'roll, petulant synthesizer nag and calculated superstardom."

The yelp-y electro-rocker "Switch" is streaming below. Expect a music video for this song, directed by Pyle and Wrik Mead, to emerge in mid-June.

Live shows are reportedly forthcoming, although it's unclear which of the album's performers will be involved in the gigs.

This album follows Black Heel Marks' prior 7-inch Partnership | Results | Success.

Feel Free:

1. Mirrors for Smashing
2. Weirdo
3. Cats & Chainsaws
4. Julian Cope
5. You KNow What I Think of You?
6. Private Rooms
7. Draco Dwarf
8. Switch (video version)
9. Blue Venus
10. The Impossiblist
11. I Could Look Pretty
12. Being There
13. Filth

Latest Coverage