Black Heel Marks

'Feel Free' (album stream)

BY Alex HudsonPublished Jun 19, 2013

Don Pyle is a founder of Canadian surf rock heroes Shadowy Men on a Shadowy Planet and a well-regarded producer, but he's now preparing to release an album with a new project: Black Heel Marks. Feel Free is out on June 25 through Northern Research/Outside Music; in the meantime, the whole thing is available to stream on

Feel Free was recorded by an amorphous lineup of musicians including Dallas Good of the Sadies, Sandro Perri, KP Kendall of Girl Trouble, Kevin Lynn and Kevan Byrne of King Cobb Steelie, Dave Evans of the Soupcans, Jonny Dovercourt of Republic of Safety, Wilmer Henderson III, Alanna Stuart of Bonjay, and more.

These contributors have created a truly unique album that mixes guitar-driven rock with electronic rhythms and spazzy digital freakouts. A number of the tracks are clanging, largely instrumental freakouts, while others bristle with punk-tinged shouts.

Dive into the weirdness below.

Latest Coverage