Shabazz Palaces Detail New LP, Share "They Come in Gold"

Shabazz Palaces Detail New LP, Share 'They Come in Gold'
Shabazz Palaces premiered their new Lese Majesty album for a Seattle crowd over the weekend, and now the Pacific Northwest rap eccentrics are sharing the details for the rest of us.

A press release confirms that Sub Pop will have the album out on July 29, with the label adding that the double LP is a "18-track sonic mythmap of new black wave and ghetto psychedelics." The record is arranged as a seven-suite cycle, with singled-out highlights said to include "They Come in Gold," "Ishmael" and "Forerunner Foray."

The album, which follows the band's 2011 Sub Pop debut Black Up, was self-produced, with the outfit handling mixing duties at Seattle's Blood at Protect and Exalt Labs. Throughout the record, Palaceer Lazaro and Tendai Maraire are joined by fellow Black Constellation members such as THEESatisfaction's Catherine Harris-White, Erik Blood and Thadillac.

Speaking of the album, Shabazz Palaces shared the following statement:

Herein bumps and soars Lese Majesty, the new sonic action of Shabazz Palaces. Honed and primal, chromed and primo. A unique and glorified offering into our ever-uniforming musical soundscape. Lese Majesty is a beatific war cry, born of a spell, acknowledging that sophistication and the instinctual are not at odds; indeed an undoing of the lie of their disparate natures.

Lese Majesty is not a launching pad for the group's fan base increasing propaganda. It is a series of astral suites, recorded happenings, shared. A dare to dive deep into Shabazz Palaces sounds, vibrations unfettered. A dope-hex thrown from the compartments that have artificially contained us all and hindered our sublime collusion.

These reveries were sent to Palaceer Lazaro and Fly Guy 'Dai in the year of gun beat battles in excess; in a succession of days, whilst walking in dreams and in varied transcendental states....(every minute of every day is filled with observation and composition. In action). Songs are committed and gathered by robots at Protect and Exalt Labs, a Black Space in Seattle, Washington.

The visual features of
Lese Majesty are resultant of the gleanings of fellow Constellationaire, Nep Sidhu.

The Black Constellation squads up, protects and exalts the messages within, and colludes accordingly. We thank you.

While you'll have to wait until July to cop all the cuts, you can check out the psychedelic, chopped-up swerve of "They Come in Gold" down below. Also, that's the abstract album art above.

Lese Majesty:

Suite 1: The Phasing Shift:

1. Dawn In Luxor

2. Forerunner Foray

3. They Come In Gold

Suite 2: Touch & Agree:

4. Solemn Swears

5. Harem Aria

6. Noetic Noiromantics

7. The Ballad of Lt. Major Winnings

Suite 3: Palace War Council Meeting:

8. Soundview

9. Ishmael

10. Down 155th In The MCM Snorkel

Suite 4: Pleasure Milieu:

11. Divine Of Form

12. #Cake

Suite 5: Federal Bureau Boys:

13. Colluding Oligarchs

14. Suspicion Of A Shape

Suite 6: High Climb To The Gallows:

15. Mind Glitch Keytar Theme

16. Motion Sickness

Suite 7: Murkings On The Oxblood Starway:

17. New Black Wave

18. Sonic Myth Map For The Trip Back