Saukrates Announces Three-Part 'Season One' Album

Saukrates Announces Three-Part 'Season One' Album
Canadian hip-hop veteran Saukrates has been dropping rhymes and making guest appearances since the '90s, but he hasn't released a full-length since his 1999 debut The Underground Tapes. Now, his long-delayed sophomore LP is finally finished. Entitled Season One, it will be released by Frostbyte/eOne.

UPDATE: Season One is due out April 24.

Confusingly, the album will come out in three parts. The first and second instalments will contain three songs a piece. Then, in early 2012, Saukrates will release the full album, which will be made up of six new songs, plus the previous six songs.

Part one is out today (September 22), and it includes "Drop It Down" (featuring Redman), "Say I," and "Na Na Na." The majority of the album was produced by Saukrates and Rich Kidd.

In a press release, Saukrates has this to say about the long-awaited collection: "I've gone back to the basics... sharing simple melodies and interesting stories is what I've always done best and enjoyed the most. When it calls for collaborations I let that happen naturally. Friends and associates I've been anxious to work with and vise versa make it easy to accomplish my 'lofty' ideas!"

Check out the Redman-assisted video for lead single "Drop It Down" below, and stay tuned for the subsequent instalments of Season One.