Sandro Perri Returns with Off World's Sophomore Album, Premieres "Decamp"

Sandro Perri Returns with Off World's Sophomore Album, Premieres 'Decamp'
Adding to an ever growing catalog, Toronto sonic explorer Sandro Perri is returning to his Off World project. Come October 6, Perri will release the aptly titled Off World album 2 via Constellation.

The newly announced album logically follows last year's 1, marking the second instalment in a three-album cycle from Off World.

While Off World is in some sense a Perri solo effort, it also features a pile of collaborators, including producers Drew Brown (Lower Dens, Blonde Redhead, Beck) and Susumu Mukai (Zongamin), as well as instrumentalists Craig Dunsmuir (Glissandro 70, Kanada 70), Eluvium's Matthew Cooper and Eric Chenaux, among others.

A press release describes the project like this:

Off World is alien electronics played humanly, resulting in genuinely exploratory and peculiarly sui generis electronic music that sounds like it could have issued from any time in the past 40-50 years. Off World resists easy categorization: not ambient, not strictly "improvised", nor "retro" — just eccentrically absorbing, impishly stimulating and gently uneasy listening in an awkward, nerdy, precocious class of its own.

For a taste of the album, you can listen to "Decamp" at the bottom of the page.


1. Wet Max
2. Island Fanfare
3. Scrubdown
4. Memory Drip
5. The Mask
6. Play Room
7. Night Valve
8. Decamp
9. Satellite Beach
10. The Grail