RJD2 Announces New Album 'The Fun Ones'

He's also shared the single "Pull Up on Love"
RJD2 Announces New Album 'The Fun Ones'
RJD2 has announced plans for a new record titled The Fun Ones. The album is due April 17 via the artist's own Electrical Connections label.

According to a statement, The Fun Ones "draws largely from the basic DNA of hip-hop and funk music, with heavy bass, plenty of thump, and slick chord changes."

Today, RJD2 has shared the record's lead single "Pull Up on Love" featuring STS and Khari Mateen. Here's what he had to say about the track:

This tune started with some Zigaboo-inspired drums, a nice little sweeping guitar lick, and a bass line that left plenty of space for wherever Slim (a.k.a. STS) was gonna take the track. I purposely left some room to fill out the track once the vocals were in place. So when Slim sent it back to me, and Khari had did his thing on it, it had such a great vibe to it that I didn't want to drench the track in production tricks and overdubs. I wanted the vocal performances to shine, so I basically cleaned up the mix, did a few breakdowns, and left it as is. It was great for the three of us to link up once again, since it had been years since we did "See You Leave."

RJD2's latest album was 2016's Dame Fortune. Back in 2018, he released Tendrils under the moniker the Insane Warrior.

Watch the video for "Pull Up on Love" below, where you can also find the album's tracklisting.

RJD2 will also head out on a mini-run of U.S. tour dates this spring in support of the new record. Find those dates here

The Fun Ones:

1. No Helmet Up Indianola
2. Indoor S'mores
3. 20 Grand Palace
4. One of a Kind
5. High Street Will Never Die
6. Pull Up on Love
7. All I'm After
8. Flocking to the Nearest Machine
9. And It Sold for 45k
10. The Freshmen Lettered
11. A Genuine Gentleman
12. Itch Ditch Mission
13. My Very Own Burglar Neighbor
14. A Salute to Blood Bowl Legends