RJD2 Announces 'More Is Than Isn't'

RJD2 Announces 'More Is Than Isn't'
RJD2 (a.k.a. songwriter/producer RJ Krohn) has dabbled in a few different styles over the last few years, and now he's preparing to make another new statement with his latest full-length. More Is Than Isn't is out on October 8 through RJ's Electrical Connections.

This is the Mad Men theme song composer's fifth proper album. It's mostly instrumental, although it features guest vocals from Phonte Coleman (Little Brother, the Foreign Exchange) and Aaron Livingston (RJD2's side-project Icebird), plus rapping from Blueprint, P. Blackk, and STS and Khari Mateen. The electronic, instrumental focus was apparently inspired by the explosion of electronic music in the last couple of years.

According to a press release, the record finds RJ sticking to his tried and true aesthetic while also breaking new sonic ground, which styles that "[range] from subdued jazz-tinged pieces to bombastic club music, and a lot of funk in between." He used his MPC sampler and analog synths when creating the songs, which are said to cover the largest dynamic range of any RJD2 release to date.

RJ explained in a statement, "In ways, all of my previous albums were in some fashion striving to achieve something more than being 'just instrumental music'; this is the first RJD2 album I've made that actually revels in a relative lack of vocals."

See the tracklist below, along with RJD2's rather sparse U.S. tour schedule.

More Is Than Isn't:

1. Suite 1
2. Temperamental (ft. Phonte Coleman)
3. Behold, Numbers!
4. Her Majesty's Socialist Request
5. A Lot of Night Ahead of You
6. Bathwater (ft. P. Blackk)
7. Milk Tooth
8. Suite 2
9. Winter Isn't Coming
10. See You Leave (ft. STS and Khari Mateen)
11. Got There, Sugar?
12. Love and Go (ft. Aaron Livingston)
13. Descended from Myth
14. Dirty Hands
15. It All Came to Me in a Dream (ft. Blueprint)
16. Suite 3

Tour dates:

7/11 Philadelphia, PA - Morgan's Pier
7/16 Cleveland, OH - Jacobs Pavilion at Nautica
7/28 Dufer, OR - What the Festival
8/1 Philadelphia, PA - Morgan's Pier