Pusha T Talks New Album, Confirms 'Cruel Winter' Is Cancelled

Pusha T Talks New Album, Confirms 'Cruel Winter' Is Cancelled
As if there haven't been enough big-name rap albums in recent weeks, Pusha T continues to build hype for his long-awaited and frequently delayed My Name Is My Name. As previously reported, it was supposed to arriving on July 16 via G.O.O.D. Music/Def Jam, but now Pusha has said in a new interview that the album has been delayed by a month over "politics and logistics." More positively, though, he leaked the list of guests on the album.

Speaking with Power 98 [via Consequence of Sound], Pusha revealed that the album will include production from Kanye West, Pharrell, Hudson Mohawke, The-Dream and Swizz Beatz, along with guest verses from Kendrick Lamar, Rick Ross, Future and Young Jeezy.

That list expands on the guest-heavy lead single "Who I Am," which features 2 Chainz and Big Sean, along with production from Kanye. In that same interview, Pusha explained that Kanye had second thoughts about giving him the beat.

"I had to fight and steal this record from Ye," he said. "I heard the record and I loved it, and he called to tell me he wasn't going to be able to give me the record. I ran in the studio real quick and laid a verse to it. I was like, 'Nah, this is my record already. I already rapped to it. What are you talking about?'"

Pusha T went on to quash rumours of a Cruel Summer follow-up once and for all, explaining that the G.O.O.D. Music artists are simply too busy to revisit the project (though we're guessing a lukewarm response to the original album also factors in).

"We're not doing the Cruel Winter album or the Cruel Summer sequel," he said. "There are too many projects we got going on."

Check out "Who I Am" below.