Primal Scream's Bobby Gillespie and Savages' Jehnny Beth Announce Collaborative Album

Hear the cosmic country sounds of "Remember We Were Lovers" from their 'Utopian Ashes'

BY Brock ThiessenPublished Mar 31, 2021

Primal Scream frontman Bobby Gillespie and Savages singer Jehnny Beth are joining forces for a collaborative album called Utopian Ashes, which will arrive via Jack White's Third Man Records.

Going simply by Bobby Gillespie and Jehnny Beth, the pair announced their joint effort today, revealing the record will arrive on July 2 via Third Man. Right now, though, you can hear the first song to be shared from the album called "Remember We Were Lovers" down below courtesy of Rolling Stone.

Apparently, the album was inspired by cosmic country sounds of artists like Gram Parsons, Emmylou Harris, George Jones and Tammy Wynette, with the entire album focusing on a fictional couple's failing marriage.

"In the same way you create characters for a novel, we've created characters here," Beth said in a statement. "But you put yourself in it because you're trying to understand the human situation. The singing has to be authentic. That's all that matters."

Gillespie added: "When you write a song you marry the personal with the fictional and make art. I was thinking about two people living alone, together but apart, existing and suffering in a psychic malaise, who plow on because of responsibilities and commitments. It's about the impermanence of everything — an existential fact that everyone has to face at some point in their lives."

The duo first began plotting their album back in 2015 but only started recording sessions in 2017, roping in Savages' Johnny Hostile and Primal Scream's Andrew Innes, Martin Duffy and Darrin Mooney to lend a hand.

Utopian Ashes will first arrive digitally on July 2, though Third Man promises the vinyl edition will follow shortly after that.

Earlier this month, Gillespie announced his memoir Tenement Kid, which is due out on October 28 via White Rabbit.

Utopian Ashes:

1. Chase It Down

2. English Town

3. Remember We Were Lovers

4. Your Heart Will Always Be Broken

5. Stones of Silence

6. You Don't Know What Love Is

7. Self-Crowned King of Nothingness

8. You Can Trust Me Now

9. Living a Lie

10. Sunk in Reverie

Latest Coverage