Popol Vuh

Revisited & Remixed (1970-1999)

BY Andrea AyottePublished Jul 23, 2011

SPV records pays tribute to German Krautrock band Popol Vuh with a celebration release honouring the tenth anniversary of founding band member Florian Fricke's death. Revisited & Remixed (1970-1999) is a double compilation showcasing Popol Vuh's influential works while including 11 new remixes by artists such as former Pan Sonic member Mika Vainio, the Orb's prolific Thomas Fehlmann, jazz electronic trio Moritz von Oswald, indie electronic bands Mouse on Mars and Stereolab, plus many more. Noted for being the first to use a Moog synthesizer with ethnic percussion, Popol Vuh became one the earliest ambient music pioneers, impacting electronic music and redefining film with their legendary soundtracks for director Werner Herzog. Peter Kruder's edit of "Aguirre I / II (Lacrima Di Rei)" involves dark, moody, organic percussion and theatrical ambience alluding to feelings of being in a jungle. Thomas Fehlmann's flow remix of "Schnee" pays homage to the band while incorporating Fehlmann's trademark dub-ier sounds. Revisited & Remixed (1970-1999) highlights Popol Vuh's historical relevance and delivers new, respectful takes by quintessential artists of our time.

Latest Coverage