​Polaris Music Prize Reveals 2017 Long List

BY Sarah MurphyPublished Jun 13, 2017

It's that time of year again for the Polaris Music Prize, and to get us going, the annual long list has just been announced.

For the 12th consecutive year, one record will earn the title of best Canadian album and a hefty cash prize of $50,000. As always, the long list of 40 contending albums has been selected by a panel of music critics, journalists and industry professionals, who made their picks "without regard to musical genre or commercial popularity."

You can see the entire long list below. The eligibility period for the 2017 Polaris Music Prize runs from June 1, 2016, to May 31, 2017.
The list will be narrowed down to 10 finalists on July 13, before the ultimate winner is chosen by a grand jury on the night of the Polaris Music Prize Gala. This year, the gala will take place on September 18 at the Carlu in downtown Toronto.

Along with the grand prize winner, each of the nine other shortlist artists will receive $3,000.

Polaris Music Prize 2017 Long List:

A Tribe Called Red - We Are The Halluci Nation
Alaclair Ensemble - Les Frères Cueilleurs
Anciients - Voice of the Void
Arkells - Morning Report
Philippe B - La grande nuit vidéo
Louise Burns - Young Mopes
Chocolat - Rencontrer Looloo 
Clairmont The Second - Quest For Milk and Honey
Leonard Cohen - You Want It Darker
Antoine Corriveau - Cette chose qui cognait au creux de sa poitrine sans vouloir s'arrêter
Le Couleur - P.O.P.
Marie Davidson - Adieux Au Dancefloor
Mac Demarco - This Old Dog          
Gord Downie - Secret Path
Drake - More Life
Feist – Pleasure
Figure Walking - The Big Other
Fiver - Audible Songs From Rockwood
Geoffroy - Coastline
Hannah Georgas - For Evelyn
Japandroids - Near To The Wild Heart Of Life
Carly Rae Jepsen - E.MO.TION Side B
B.A. Johnston - Gremlins III
Lisa LeBlanc - Why You Wanna Leave, Runaway Queen?
The New Pornographers - Whiteout Conditions
Klô Pelgag - L'Étoile thoracique
Peter Peter - Noir Éden
Lido Pimienta - La Papessa
Jessie Reyez – Kiddo
Daniel Romano - Modern Pressure
The Sadies - Northern Passages
John K. Samson - Winter Wheat
Tanya Tagaq – Retribution
The Tragically Hip - Man Machine Poem
Leif Vollebekk - Twin Solitude         
Weaves - Weaves
The Weeknd - Starboy
Charlotte Day Wilson – CDW

Latest Coverage