PACKS Detail Debut Album 'take the cake'

Watch a video for the new single "Silvertongue"
PACKS Detail Debut Album 'take the cake'
A month after Toronto slacker rock outfit PACKS announced that they had signed to Royal Mountain and Fire Talk Records, they have unveiled that their debut album, take the cake, is set for digital release on May 21, with the physical version coming on July 9.

The album melds songs from PACKS founder Madeline Link's Toronto life in 2019 with newer material written in lockdown when she was living with her parents in the suburbs of Ottawa. Said Link in a statement:

The album is a meeting of old and new. Old songs from a year ago where I'm having really horrifyingly awful days at work, getting doored while biking in Toronto and flying into the middle of the street, or going on dates with guys who I'm either instantly in love with, or who end up creeping me out a bit. Those songs are more packed with that feeling of hurtling-through-time-and-space-at-breakneck-speed, manic energy. The newer songs are infused with a foggier, slower-paced disillusionment, and deal with the strangeness of a reality morphing before my eyes every day. I still try to be optimistic obviously, but these songs are really glorified coping mechanisms.

To celebrate the announcement, the band have shared new single "Silvertongue" and an accompanying video. The fuzzed-out tune merges Pavement's laconic flair with Sonic Youth's simmering menace, while the video finds vocalist Link strutting, staggering and flailing across the Toronto harbourfront, looking effortlessly cool as she rocks a series of stylish jackets.

Of the song, Link said: "It's easy to be lured into the comforts of past relationships. What's harder is dealing with years of exhaustion, mistrust, and always hoping. Ditch the whiplash of manipulation and decide what YOU want out of love!"

"Silvertongue" follows last month's single "Hangman," which will also appear on the record.

Watch the "Silvertongue" video below and keep scrolling for more information on take the cake.

take the cake:

1. Divine Giggling
2. Clingfilm
3. Two Hands
4. New TV
5. Hangman
6. My Dream
7. Hold My Hand
8. Holy Water
9. Silvertongue
10. Blown by the Wind
11. U Can Wish All U Want

Pre-order take the cake.