Owen Turns Over New Leaves on Fifth Album

Owen Turns Over <i>New Leaves</i> on Fifth Album
Mike Kinsella, whom you may know from influential Chicago bands like Cap'n Jazz, American Football and Joan of Arc, has announced that he'll be releasing his fifth solo album under his Owen moniker. The record follows a three-year absence since previous effort 2006's At Home with Owen.

The new album is called New Leaves and will be released through Polyvinyl Records on September 22. According to a press release, the album "retains elements of earlier Owen material but here, the arrangements are more elaborate, the song structures more complex and the lyrics more refined. Instead of lamenting failed relationships, Kinsella focuses on the new beginnings they allow."

New Leaves is currently available for pre-order. Those who choose to order up the CD will receive a 24-page lyric and photo booklet, as well as a 16-song Polyvinyl sampler. Vinyl pre-orderers will get their chance at mixed colour vinyl, which is limited to 500 copies. All pre-orders will also receive an Owen sticker and button. All information on that is available here.

Exclaim! TV caught up with Owen last year, where he revealed that his childhood ambition was to appear as an extra on Degrassi. Don't believe us? Well, watch the video below.

New Leaves:

1. "New Leaves"
2. "Good Friends, Bad Habits"
3. "A Trenchant Critique"
4. "Never Been Born"
5. "Amnesia and Me"
6. "Brown Hair in a Bird's Nest"
7. "Too Scared to Move"
8. "The Only Child of Aergia"
9. "Ugly on the Inside"
10. "Curtain Call"