Old Wounds Return with 'The Suffering Spirit'

Old Wounds Return with 'The Suffering Spirit'
We hope you recovered from the damage inflicted by Old Wounds' 2014 mini-effort, Death Projection, as the New Jersey hardcore crew have revealed that they'll soon be tearing listeners apart with a new album. The band's sophomore full-length, The Suffering Spirit, is set to drop on June 30 via Good Fight Music.

The new album will be the group's second release through Good Fight, following last fall's Death Projection, but it's their first full-length since 2013's From Where We Came Is Where We'll Rest. That record had come via Glory Kid.

A press release notes that The Suffering Spirit was recorded, mixed and mastered by Andreas Magnusson (the Black Dahlia Murder, Despised Icon), and it apparently evolves Old Wounds' hardcore- and metal-influenced approach. Riffs are still said to "chug and churn," and vocalist Kevin Iavaroni still delivers menacing screams, but it's explained that the band have also ushered in "clean vocals and dark melodies."

You'll find the full tracklisting for The Suffering Spirit, as well as the hard-stomping, discordant damage of opening aural assault "Rest in Piss," down below. The artwork, which you can see up above, was prepped by drummer Brandon Gallagher.

The Suffering Spirit:

1. Rest in Piss

2. Never Sleep Again

3. Actual Nothing

4. The Secret Song at the Center of the World

5. Heaven Is a Memory

6. Son of No One

7. On Leather Wings

8. Vampyr

9. Moral Hex

10. Where Flowers Grow

11. Desecrate