Oh Sees' John Dwyer Forms Supergroup Bent Arcana

The band's self-titled debut features TV on the Radio's Kyp Malone and more
Oh Sees' John Dwyer Forms Supergroup Bent Arcana
Oh Sees overseer John Dwyer has announced the formation of a new supergroup. Dubbed Bent Arcana, the project will release a self-titled debut on August 21 through Castle Face Records.

As Dwyer explained in an accompanying statement, "Bent Arcana is the inceptive chapter in what I hope to be several releases showcasing these types of off-the-cuff musical compositions. So you can try your fry on and turn off."

Joining Dwyer on Bent Arcana are TV on the Radio's Kyp Malone (synthesizer), drummer/percussionist/vocalist Ryan Sawyer, bassist Peter Kerlin, saxophonists Joce Soubiran and Brad Caulkins, keyboardist Tom Dolas, guitarist Marcos Rodriguez, violinist Laena "Geronimo" Myers-Ionita, and percussionist Andres Renteria.

"This one is very much on the ECM / '70s hard fusion / prog-kraut tip. It is a many pronged weapon, swung by the spontaneous sentinel," Dwyer said of the group's debut.

You can listen to LP opener "The Gate" below.

This past February, Dwyer mapped out a fall North American tour with Oh Sees that features a lone Canadian date in Toronto on September 14. The tour dates are currently not cancelled or postponed.

Bent Arcana:

1. The Gate
2. Outré Sorcellerie
3. Misanthrophe Gets Lunch
4. Mimi
5. Oblivion Sigil
6. Sprites

Bent Arcana is now available for pre-order.