Obits Announce New Album: 'Bed & Bugs'

BY Alex HudsonPublished Jun 21, 2013

Garage rock combo Obits recently spoke with Exclaim! about their forthcoming album, which was about half done as of April. The collection is now evidently complete, since the band have confirmed that it's called Bed & Bugs, and it will arrive on September 10 through Sub Pop Records.

The disc was recorded in Arlington, VA, with Nikhil Ranade. Additional mixing was provided by Eli Janney and Geoff Sanoff. Watch footage from the sessions in a short trailer at the bottom of this page.

The 13-song tracklist is below. "Besetchet" is a cover of a tune from the 23rd volume of the Ethiopiques series of African music. In a statement, the band compared the songs to bands like Hot Snakes, Edsel, Drive Like Jehu, Girls Against Boys, Pitchfork, Television and the Wipers. (It should be noted that most of those bands feature members of Obits.)

Those who pre-order the album on CD or LP will release a limited edition 7-inch, while supplies last. This features live versions of the previously released tunes "Refund," "Talking to the Dog" and "New August," which were recorded on tour last summer. There will also be a limited run of records on so-called "Loser Edition" coloured vinyl.

Go to Sub Pop's website for more information.

The band's currently confirmed tour schedule is also below. As of yet, there are no Canadian shows, but more dates will be announced soon.

Bed & Bugs:

1. Taste the Diff
2. Spun Out
3. It's Sick
4. This Must Be Done
5. Pet Trust
6. Besetchet
7. Operation Bikini
8. Malpractice
9. This Girls Opinion
10. Receptor
11. I'm Closing In
12. Machines
13. Double Jeopardy (For the Third Time)

Tour dates:

6/21 Murska Sobota, Slovenia - Festival Soboski Dnevi

6/22 Tocnik, Czech Republic - Silver Rocket Summer Summa
9/21 Brooklyn, NY - The Bell House
10/30 Tampa, FL - The Fest
10/31 Gainesville, FL - The Fest

Latest Coverage