Norma Jean Detail 'Polar Similar,' Premiere New Single

Norma Jean Detail 'Polar Similar,' Premiere New Single
After teasing the impending arrival of a new album earlier in the spring, metalcore crew Norma Jean have confirmed a few more details behind the release. Now officially titled Polar Similar, the band's seventh studio full-length is due September 9 through Solid State Records.

A press release confirms that the record, Norma Jean's first long-player since 2013's Wrongdoers, features 13 new tunes. It's added that the collection "dives headfirst into new territory while maintaining the unbridled heaviness that earned Norma Jean their loyal fanbase."

On the lyrical side of things, vocalist Cory Brandan's contributions to the record are said to be "startlingly honest," and deal with various struggles.

To help tease the upcoming release, the band are streaming first single "1,000,000 Watts." Spiked with discordant chord work and an almost Deftones-style groove, the track can be found below, courtesy of NPR. Polar Similar's rodent-riddled cover art can be found up above.

Polar Similar:

1. I. The Planet
2. Everyone Talking Over Everyone Else
3. Forever Hurtling Towards Andromeda
4. 1,000,000 Watts
5. II. The People
6. Death is a Living Partner
7. Synthetic Sun
8. Reaction
9. III. The Nebula
10. The Close and Discontent
11. An Ocean of War
12. A Thousand Years a Minute
13. IV. The Nexus