Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds Ready Triple-Disc Greatest Hits

Listen to a new song called "We're on Our Way Now"

BY Josiah HughesPublished Apr 29, 2021

Two years after Oasis split in 2009, Noel Gallagher re-emerged with his group Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds. That means they've been around for more than a decade, releasing three LPs in the process. To celebrate, the band have announced a new best-of compilation.

The three-disc set is called Back the Way We Came: Vol 1 (2011-2021) and compiles the band's best songs from their last decade. The collection will arrive on June 11 via Sour Mash.

"Ten years of Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds?? Blimey! Just think of all the things I COULD have done in that time!!" Gallagher said in a press release. "The title just came to me one afternoon, at the kitchen table. It's a saying isn't it: 'back the way we came.' I actually thought it was a great title. Which is why it's got vol 1. Because if there's another one, I'm not coming up with another title!"

The release includes two discs of greatest hits content, as well as a bonus disc of remixes and alternate versions. There are also two brand new tracks in "Flying on the Ground" and "We're on Our Way Now." Listen to the latter via a music video below.

Back the Way We Came is available in a variety of formats, including a limited cassette and a Record Store Day picture disc. Pre-order your copy here.

Back the Way We Came: Vol 1 (2011-2021):

Disc 1:

1. Everybody's On The Run
2. The Death Of You And Me
3. AKA … What A Life!
4. If I Had A Gun …
5. In The Heat Of The Moment
6. Riverman
7. Lock All The Doors
8. The Dying Of The Light
9. Ballad Of The Mighty I
10. We're On Our Way Now

Disc 2:

1. Black Star Dancing
2. Holy Mountain (Remastered)
3. A Dream Is All I Need To Get By
4. This Is The Place
5. It's A Beautiful World
6. Blue Moon Rising
7. Dead In The Water (Live At RTÉ 2FM Studios, Dublin)
8. Flying On The Ground

Bonus Disc:

1. It's A Beautiful World (Instrumental)
2. If I Had A Gun … (Acoustic Version)
3. Black Star Dancing (Skeleton Key Remix)
4. Black Star Dancing (12" Mix Instrumental)
5. The Man Who Built The Moon (Acoustic Version)
6. International Magic (Demo)
7. Blue Moon Rising (Sons Of The Desert Remix)
8. The Dying Of The Light (Acoustic Version)
9. This Is The Place (Skeleton Key Remix)
10. This Is The Place (Instrumental)
11. Black Star Dancing (The Reflex Revision)
12. Be Careful What You Wish For (Instrumental)

Latest Coverage