Nick Cave Unveils New Spoken Word Project 'Seven Psalms'

Cave's new spoken word album is a series of "small, sacred songs" in collaboration with Warren Ellis

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Apr 21, 2022

With a long career spent being backed by a crew of Bad Seeds, it was only a matter of time before Nick Cave decided to start preaching: the musician has unveiled plans to lean into holiness and release a biblical-sounding spoken word album, set to music made in collaboration with trusted co-conspirator Warren Ellis.

Due June 10, Seven Psalms will be available on limited-edition 10-inch vinyl and streaming services. As you may have guessed, it includes seven spoken-word tracks — or "small, sacred songs," according to a press release — which Cave spent a week in lockdown writing. There's also a 12-minute instrumental cut courtesy of Ellis.

"The seven psalms are presented as one long meditation — on faith, rage, love, grief, mercy, sex and praise. A veiled, contemplative offering borne of an uncertain time," Cave said in a statement. "I hope you like it."

Check out a preview of "Such Things Should Never Happen" (and Cave's spoken word cadence) with the album trailer below, and keep scrolling for the tracklist.

Seven Psalms:

Side A:

1. How Long Have I Waited?
2. Have Mercy on Me
3. I Have Trembled My Way Deep
4. I Have Wandered All My Unending Days
5. Splendour, Glorious Splendour
6. Such Things Should Never Happen
7. I Come Alone and to You

Side B:

1. Psalm Instrumental

Pre-order Seven Psalms.

Latest Coverage