New Order to Roll Out 'Lost Sirens' Outtakes in December

New Order to Roll Out 'Lost Sirens' Outtakes in December
When post-punk legend Peter Hook spoke with Exclaim! earlier this year, he told us about a handful of leftover tracks that New Order were planning to release in time for Christmas.

He said, "I'm hoping that they'll be stand-alone and not the usual cash-in where they're aligned to some LPs or something."

Well, it looks as if Hooky got his wish, since the band are prepping an eight-song outtakes collection called Lost Sirens for release in December via Rhino Records.

UPDATE: According to an updated Amazon posting, the record is now due out on March 19.

All of these are outtakes come from the sessions that produced New Order's final LP, 2005's Waiting for the Sirens' Call. This includes the song "Hellbent," which previously appeared on this year's compilation Total: From Joy Division to New Order. Scroll down to see the tracklist, which includes seven additional cuts, and check out the album cover above.

Lost Sirens will be available as a CD/vinyl package. There's currently no confirmed release date, since Slicing Up Eyeballs points out that a variety of online sellers are reporting different dates in the first half of December. Whatever the exact due date, it looks as if we're going to be able to put this one on our 2011 Christmas list.

Slicing Up Eyeballs also notes that mastering engineer Frank Arkwright tweeted, "Cutting a new piece of vinyl for New Order, heavyweight vinyl!"

New Order recently reunited without Peter Hook, which rekindled the bassist's feud with fellow founders Bernard Sumner and Stephen Morris. Hook had told Exclaim! that he hoped the Sirens outtakes would give him a sense of closure from the band.

"Since New Order split, they've always been hanging there," Hook said of the songs. "What I want to see is a clean slate for New Order. I want to be able to look at New Order and go, 'Well, it's all finished,' and then we can all get on with our lives."

Lost Sirens:

1. "Stay With You"
2. "Sugarcane"
3. "Recoil"
4. "Californian Grass (Doomy)"
5. "Hellbent"
6. "Shake It Up"
7. "I've Got a Feeling"
8. "I Told You So"