New Chance Returns with 'Real Time'

Listen to lead single "Earth House (Turning)" now

BY Matt BobkinPublished May 26, 2021

Less than two years after Toronto experimental artist New Chance delivered the Hardly Working EP — one of Exclaim!'s Best EPs of 2019 — the producer born Victoria Cheong is back with a new album. Real Time is due for release on July 16 via We Are Time.

The album draws on the work of Cheong's grandfather, Jackson, who moved to Toronto as a teenager from a farming village in China. The album's cover features Jackson's photos of a Night-Blooming Cereus cactus in his garden. The flowered cactus blossoms only one night a year, which Cheong links on Real Time to her output as an artist.

Mixed by Lisa Conway (L CON), Real Time elevates New Chance's avant-electropop with slick grooves beneath Cheong's sharp vocals. The sound can be heard clearly on lead single "Earth House (Turning)," as Cheong moves from ponderous spoken word to harmonized R&B vocalizations, encouraging listeners to slow down and drink in life's every detail.

Real Time follows last month's New Chance track "Annie Likes Drumrolls," her contribution to Chandra Mixtape, Vol. 1

Listen to the radio edit of "Earth House (Turning)" below, and keep reading for more information on Real Time.

Real Time:

1. Eye of the Storm
2. Earth House (Turning)
3. Break My Waves
4. Fallen
5. Real Time
6. Two Pictures
7. Unfeel
8. Time Treat Me Right
9. To the Edge
10. Adriatic

Pre-order Real Time here.

Latest Coverage