Narrows Announce 'Painted'

Narrows Announce 'Painted'
Proving they won't let a little thing like the Atlantic Ocean get in their way, bi-continental hardcore supergroup Narrows have announced their return with sophomore album Painted.

The new album, which follows the group's 2009 debut New Distances, will be delivered via Deathwish Inc. on February 28. Though the band are spread apart, with singer Dave Verellen (Botch) and guitarist Ryan Frederiksen (These Arms Are Snakes) holed up in Seattle, bassist Rob Moran (Unbroken, Some Girls) and drummer Sam Stothers in San Diego, and guitarist Jodie Cox residing in London, England, the band managed to wrap up recording sessions through the use of technology.

Producer Matt Bayles (Mastodon, Minus the Bear) tracked the bulk of Narrows' record at his Red Room Studio in Seattle, while Cox's guitar overdubs were tracked by Wayne Pennell at Bunker Studios in Brentford, England, during late-night Skype sessions with the rest of the band. Described as a "marriage of primal metallic hardcore with the effects-laden art rock approach of guitarists Cox and Frederiksen," the album's eight songs clock in at just 27 minutes. That said, the band's experimental moments have supposedly been curtailed this time around in favour of "big meaty riffs." You can check out first single "Absolute Betrayer" down below.

Cox was denied entry into the U.S. earlier this year and was forced to skip out on the Narrows' 2011 tour dates, forcing the band to pick up former Undertow/Shift six-stringer Mark Holcomb as a temporary replacement. The group have announced a U.S. tour in support of Painted in March, but it's unclear whether or not Cox will participate. You can check those dates here.

NARROWS Absolute Betrayer by deathwishinc