Mystery Jets Outline 'Radlands'

Mystery Jets Outline 'Radlands'
English rock outfit Mystery Jets will continue their quirky journey later this spring when they deliver their next LP, Radlands. Marking the follow-up to their 2010 effort Serotonin, the disc arrives April 30 in the UK via Rough Trade.

While the band's first three LPs were recorded in London, a press release explains that Mystery Jets decided to spice up their lives and flew out to Austin to lay down the majority of the 11-song affair in "a big old wooden house on the banks of the Colorado river." They did, however, finish up the record with producer Dan Carey (Chairlift) in his south London studio.

Mystery Jets apparently showed up for their American studio sessions with little gear, which frontman Blaine Harrison explained helped shape the sounds of Radlands.

"All we brought on the plane were the guitars on our backs, so we ended up borrowing all this amazing valve gear from an old guy called Jack who ran a little studio up in the hills -- which is why the songs sound the way they do," Harrison said in a statement. "In the daytime we wrote lyrics on the porch and in the evenings a family of deer would gather in the backyard to hear us play."

Song-length samples have yet to arrive, but you can check out an acoustic snippet of a new tune, as well as footage of the group recording, shooting guns and swimming in Texas, in the album trailer below.


1. Radlands

2. Had Me At Hello
3. Someone Purer

4. Lonestar 

5. Greatest Hits 

6. Saviour 

7. The Nothing

8. Roses 

9. Sister Everett
10. Lost In Austin 

11. Luminescense