Múm Return with 'Smilewound'

Múm Return with 'Smilewound'
Icelandic pop oddities Múm have announced their return, with a new album titled Smilewound set to arrive September 17 via Morr Music.

Despite issuing the rarities collection Early Birds in 2012, this is the first proper studio from the band since 2009's Sing Along to Songs You Don't Know. It was recorded and self-produced at Múm's Baltic farmhouse studio.

Described in a press release as "an airy, relaxed record," Smilewound finds members Gunnar Örn Tynes and Örvar Þóreyjarson Smárasoneing rejoined by fellow band founder Gyða Valtýsdóttir, who had left the group after the release of 2002's Finally We Are No One.

The sparse set allegedly displays the band's "capability to build playful electronic sound-ornaments around simple melodies." You can hear a snippet of the album's "Toothwheels," a glacial synth-and-skitter-beat excursion found on a recently released on a 7-inch backed by B-side "Cranes Like Ships," over here.

Also included on Smilewound is "Whistle," a collaboration with Aussie pop star Kylie Minogue that first popped up in the 2012 film Jack & Diane. You can hear that velveteen track down below.


1. Toothwheels
2. Underwater Snow
3. When Girls Collide
4. Slow Down
5. Candlestick
6. One Smile
7. Eternity Is The Wait Between Breaths
8. The Colorful Stabwound
9. Sweet Impressions
10. Time To Scream And Shout
11. Whistle (ft. Kylie Minogue)