​Mounties Announce 'Heavy Meta' Album, Premiere "De-Evolve Again" Video

​Mounties Announce 'Heavy Meta' Album, Premiere 'De-Evolve Again' Video
Mounties have been teasing their sophomore album all year, and now they've revealed when it will finally arrive. Titled Heavy Meta, the record will be out February 8 via Light Organ Records.
A press releases promises that the new full-length will hear Hawksley Workman, Steve Bays and Ryan Dahle delivering the "vocal melodies, wobbly vintage synth lines and staccato guitar leads" that endeared listeners to the group — and the bandmates' other projects — in the first place.
Heavy Meta was written in bits and pieces all over the place — bedrooms, basements, even a cabin in the middle of nowhere. All three band members shared engineering and mixing duties.
The album artwork is pictured above, and the full tracklisting for Heavy Meta can be found below.
In addition to the album announcement, they've also unveiled a video for recent single "De-Evolve Again."
The track hears the Canadian indie-rock supergroup lamenting the state of the planet, while holding out hope that humanity can take responsibility and fix it. The video centres on a man who reconnects with nature while partaking in a hallucinatory, psychedelic ritual.
The video was shot in the Valley of Fire in Nevada by Canadian film director and screenwriter Kevin Funk, with additional editing and creation by Mounties' very own Steve Bays.

In a statement, the band say of the song, "Lyrically, it hints at some kind of global awakening... as if all 7 billion broken individuals stood up and accepted a shared responsibility of what might be going wrong on the planet."
Watch the colourful video for "De-Evolve Again."
Heavy Meta:
1. Skymall
2. Heavy Meta
3. Modesty Pays
4. Hitchin' Man
5. Python Status
6. Flags of Convenience
7. De-Evolve Again
8. No XTC
9. Canoe Song
10. Beauty Won't Fail You
11. Longplay
12. One Way Mirror
13. Burning Money
14. You Were Right
15. Dark Heart Softening