Moor Mother Announces New Album 'The Great Bailout,' Shares Single with Mary Lattimore

Lonnie Holley and Raia Was are also featured on lead track "Guilty"

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Jan 18, 2024

Poet and composer Camae Ayewa, a.k.a. Moor Mother, has announced her ninth studio album — leading with the new single "Guilty," co-produced by Mary Lattimore and featuring vocals from Lonnie Holley and Raia Was.

The Great Bailout comes on March 8 through ANTI- Records. It follows 2022's Jazz Codes and boasts additional contributions from Vijay Iyer, Aaron Dilloway, Angel Bat Dawid, Alya Al-Sultani, justmadnice, Kyle Kidd, Sistazz of the Nitty Gritty and more.

"Research is a major part of my work, and researching history — particularly African history, philosophy and time — is a major interest," Ayewa said of the record, which explores the lasting effects of British colonialism through Afrofuturism, jazz, hip-hop and beat poetry. "Europe and Africa have a very intimate and brutal relationship throughout time. I'm interested in exploring that relationship of colonialism and liberation, in this case in Great Britain."

She added, "Displacement and its effects are not discussed enough. The PTSD of displacement should be a focus, and as we have the opportunity to learn about things happening in the world, we also have the opportunity to learn about ourselves. We've been through so many different acts of systematic violence."

Opening track "Guilty" is a sprawling, 10-minute epic that, even at its most otherworldly, never loses its ominous intensity. Listen below, where you'll also find the album tracklist.

The Great Bailout:

1. Guilty (feat. Lonnie Holley and Raia Was)
2. All the Money (feat. Alya Al-Sultani)
3. God Save the Queen (feat. justmadnice)
4. Compensated Emancipation (feat. Kyle Kidd)
5. Death by Longitude
6. My Souls Been Anchored
7. Liverpool Wins (feat. Kyle Kidd)
8. South Sea (feat. Sistazz of the Nitty Gritty)
9. Spem in Alium

Pre-order The Great Bailout.

Latest Coverage