Moon King Announces New Album 'The Audition'

Hear the record's "Survival of the Strongest" and "Gimme a Break"

BY Megan LaPierrePublished May 20, 2021

Moon King is gearing up to release his third full-length album. It's called The Audition and arrives Arbutus Records on July 16. Today, though, we're getting a sneak peek of what's to come from the project by Toronto-hailing artist Daniel Benjamin.

Born of a fascination with actors and the auditioning process, The Audition promises to be a lo-fi masterclass in performance studies; 15 years of experience playing music, touring and producing make Moon King an apt educator.

His new song "Survival of the Strongest" leans into the competitive nature of the game. It's about "how to deal with criticism, keep your ego in check and stay inspired. There's no correct mix of talent, luck and brains — the only way to succeed is to be the best at showing everyone who you are," Benjamin explained in a statement.

Still, Moon King can't help but breathlessly chitter, "Did I get it?!" into the receiver, bringing the track's slow-burning four-on-the-floor to its abrupt end.

The Audition will mark Benjamin's follow-up to 2019's Voice of Lovers

Stream "Survival of the Strongest" and the recently shared album track "Gimme a Break" below, where you will also find the tracklisting for The Audition.

The Audition:

1. Aide SVP
2. Gimme a Break
3. I Hate to Miss a Party
4. Honey Honey Honey
5. Survival of the Strongest
6. Until I See You Again
7. Drama Part Two
8. That's Not My Name
9. The Audition

Pre-order The Audition

Latest Coverage