Montreal's Gayance Details Debut Album 'Mascarade' with Hua Li 化力, Janette King

Hear the three artists team up on new song "Clout Chaser's Anthem"

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Jan 19, 2023

Gayance has lifted the curtain on her debut album. The Montreal-born artist (a.k.a. Aïsha Vertus) will share Mascarade on March 3 via Rhythm Section.

Following 2021 EP No Toning Down, the 10-track Mascarade is described by Exclaim! New Faves alum Vertus as "the story of my 20s. I pay homage to this kid everybody knew, but not deeply. It's about retrieving a power that has always been mine, making peace with the past and moving forward."

An extended version of previously shared "Nunca Mais" appears in the tracklist, alongside some of Montreal's finest, whom Vertus has invited to the party. An Apple Music listing points to contributions from Hua Li 化力, Janette King, Raveen and Judith Little D, as well as Dutch producer Laza.

Alongside the album news, King and Hua Li 化力 join Vertus on the freshly arrived "Clout Chaser's Anthem," which you can hear below. 

"Creating Clout Chaser's Anthem was a great release," Vertus shares, adding of the session, "We were drinking natural wine and eating a special kind of chocolate and I shared some experiences I've had with men. There was a moment in my life where I thought I was at service to people and I shouldn't receive love and affection in return... I love R&B groups and having all our vocals on it was something I wanted to experiment with. It's like a sisterhood-powerhouse meeting. We put a feeling into sound."

Press materials even tease the arrival of "Mascarade, the movie," but until then, pre-save Mascarade, ahead of reading Exclaim!'s 2022 interview with Gayance.


1. Interlude Between Brussels & Rio
2. Dead End
3. Clout Chaser's Anthem
4. 1996 Inner G
5. Shore Apart
6. Lord Have Mercy
7. Nunca Mais (Extended Version)
8. Healing Process (Skit)
9. Mascarade
10. Moon Rising (10 Years)

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage