Montreal's Afternoon Bike Ride Detail Sophomore Album 'Glossover,' Share New Single

It follows the lo-fi trio's 2021 self-titled debut

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Sep 14, 2022

Montreal trio Afternoon Bike Ride have detailed their sophomore album, sharing lush new single "For the Breakdowns" to mark the occasion.

Glossover arrives February 10, 2023, through Friends of Friends Music. It follows their 2021 self-titled debut, which was featured in our November Essential Listening round-up, from the group consisting of David Tanton, Éloi Le Blanc-Ringuette and Lia Kurihara.

Balancing a gossamer levity and a dark tension, the new record was penned while primary vocalist Kurihara began caring for her father amid an Alzheimer's diagnosis.

"I often feel isolated in this situation and at a loss for what to do," she explained in a statement. "I'm really just at the mercy of how quickly he declines. It's like we're trying to have a conversation but the service is spotty and he keeps fading further away."

As that depiction of the tragedy would indicate, Afternoon Bike Ride curate a vibe-forward, perfectly poetic lo-fi soundscape. Fleshing out a quintessential ambience with elements of folk, jazz and indie rock, their genre-defying blend has a handwoven coziness about it, brimming with nostalgia.

Of the meditative new single, Kurihara added:

This song speaks on my self-growth over the last four years which felt pretty pivotal in my life and also in a lot of my friends' lives, we've all experienced tons of self-development and gone through many hard moments that helped us reach who we are today. At the end of the day, the lesson is to prioritize love — love for one's self, family, community, and planet. This song is meant to be a reminder that throughout the breakdowns, another version of yourself in a more stable time is there to spiritually comfort you, there to remind you that nothing is permanent and this chaos will end as much as any joy experienced will pass too. Life is imperfect, we're imperfect and that's something beautiful to keep in mind. We're all constantly evolving and our emotional states are ephemeral.

Watch the video for "For the Breakdowns" below, where you'll also find the album tracklist.


1. Musubi
2. For the Breakdowns
3. Summertime
4. Before We Don't Have Time
5. Nothing in Particular
6. Glossover (feat. Lowswimmer)
7. Ensemble Mais Perdu (feat. Robert Robert) 
8. Bois Dormant
9. When We Were the Same (feat. Oyeme)
10. A Thousand Pounds
11. Not Ideal
12. All on Me
13. Good Company
14. Tom's Song

Latest Coverage