Modest Mouse Announce New Album 'The Golden Casket,' Share "We Are Between" Single

Modest Mouse Announce New Album 'The Golden Casket,' Share 'We Are Between' Single
Veteran indie-rock outfit Modest Mouse had promised a quick follow-up to their 2015 album Strangers to Ourselves. Aside from the tracks "Ice Cream Party," "Poison the Well" and "I'm Still Here," that never materialized. Now, six years later, they've finally got another one in the bag.

The new Modest Mouse album is called The Golden Casket and was produced in Los Angeles with Dave Sardy and Jacknife Lee, as well as in the band's Portland studio. A press release promises that the album "hovers in the liminal space between raw punk power and experimental studio science." 

Ahead of its arrival in full, you can listen to the first single "We Are Between" below. Those hoping for a return to the lo-fi noodling of Interstate 8 will have to keep waiting, because this is most certainly a new Modest Mouse song and slick as hell.

The Golden Casket arrives on June 25 via Epic

The Golden Casket:

1. Fuck Your Acid Trip
2. We Are Between
3. We're Lucky
4. Walking and Running
5. Wooden Soldiers
6. Transmitting Receiving
7. The Sun Hasn't Left
8. Lace Your Shoes
9. Never Fuck a Spider on the Fly
10. Leave a Light On
11. Japanese Trees
12. Back to the Middle

Pre-order The Golden Casket.