Moby Announces Orchestral 'Reprise' Album with Jim James, Luna Li

Kris Kristofferson, Mark Lanegan, Skylar Grey, Amythyst Kiah and more also appear

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Mar 26, 2021

Moby has combed his catalogue for a new star-studded orchestral album. The 13-song Reprise arrives May 28 via Deutsche Grammophon.

Reprise finds the producer reinterpreting 13 of his songs with the Budapest Art Orchestra. Across the listen, special guests include My Morning Jacket's Jim James, Kris Kristofferson, Luna Li, Mark Lanegan, Skylar Grey, Amythyst Kiah, Vikingur Ólafsson, Darlingside and more.

An orchestral version of "Porcelain," featuring Jim James, can be heard below. 

"Sorry if this seems self-evident, but for me the main purpose of music is to communicate emotion, to share some aspect of the human condition to whomever might be listening," Moby said of the album. "I long for the simplicity and vulnerability you can get with acoustic or classical music."

Reprise will arrive the same day as a new Moby Doc.


1. Everloving
2. Natural Blues (ft. Gregory Porter & Amythyst Kiah)
3. Go
4. Porcelain (ft. Jim James)
5. Extreme Ways
6. Heroes (ft. Mindy Jones)
7. God Moving Over The Face of the Water (ft. Vikingur Ólafsson)
8. Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad (ft. Apollo Jane)
9. The Lonely Night (ft. Kris Kristofferson & Mark Lanegan)
10. We Are All Made of Stars
11. Lift Me Up
12. The Great Escape (ft. Nataly Dawn, Alice Skye, Luna Li)
13. The Last Day (ft. Skylar Grey & Darlingside)

Latest Coverage