Benjamin Clementine Wins 2015's Mercury Prize

Benjamin Clementine Wins 2015's Mercury Prize
Last month, the nominees were unveiled for the annual Barclaycard Mercury Prize, which determines the best album from the UK and Ireland each year. Now, after a long bout of deliberation, the winner has been revealed.

The award went to Benjamin Clementine for his album At Least for Now, beating out the likes of Jamie xx, Florence and the Machine, and Róisín Murphy.

The winner was awarded an Album of the Year trophy, in addition to a cheque for £20,000. 

The Mercury Prize states that the award's objective is "to provide a snapshot of the year in music, to encourage debate and discussion about music, and to help introduce new albums from a variety of musical genres to a wider audience." 
The full list of Mercury Prize nominees is available below. 

Aphex Twin - Syro 
Wolf Alice - My Love Is Cool 
Róisín Murphy - Hairless Toys 
C Duncan - Architect 
Florence and the Machine - How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful 
Ghostpoet - Shedding Skin 
Benjamin Clementine - At Least for Now 
Jamie xx - In Colour 
SOAK - Before We Forgot How to Dream 
Gaz Coombes - Matador 
Slaves - Are You Satisfied?