​Mavis Staples' 75th Birthday Celebration Treated to Live Album and DVD

The concert featured Arcade Fire's Win Butler and Régine Chassagne, Wilco's Jeff Tweedy, Gregg Allman, Bonnie Raitt, Emmylou Harris and more

BY Sarah MurphyPublished Mar 28, 2017

Back in 2014, soul legend and activist Mavis Staples turned 75 and was honoured with a massive concert in Chicago. Footage from that show is now getting worked into new live album and DVD set dubbed Mavis Staples: I'll Take You There – An All-Star Concert Celebration.
The concert film will air as a TV special on April 16 on AXS TV, followed by a physical release as a CD/DVD set on June 2 via Blackbird Presents Records.
The star-studded lineup featured more than 20 performances, featuring appearances from Win Butler and Régine Chassagne of Arcade Fire, Jeff Tweedy of Wilco and his son Spencer Tweedy, Gregg Allman, Ryan Bingham, Eric Church, Otis Clay, Patty Griffin, Glen Hansard, Emmylou Harris, Taj Mahal, Michael McDonald, Buddy Miller, Keb' Mo', Aaron Neville, Joan Osborne, Widespread Panic, Grace Potter, Bonnie Raitt, Marty Stuart,  — and, of course, Staples herself.
In addition to the live performances, the upcoming release also include interviews with the participating artists in which Staples' lasting musical impact is explored.

According to the collection's pre-order listing, the DVD will include two additional performances not aired during the TV special, while the 2-disc CD also features one additional track.
Check out the guest-heavy tracklisting down below. You'll also find footage from a massive singalong rendition of the Band classic "The Weight" featuring, well, everybody.
Mavis Staples: I'll Take You There – An All-Star Concert Celebration:

Disc 1:

1. Joan Osborne –" You're Driving Me (To The Arms Of A Stranger)"
2. Keb' Mo' – "Heavy Makes You Happy"
3. Otis Clay – "I Ain't Raisin' No Sand"
4. Buddy Miller – "Woke Up This Morning (with My Mind On Jesus)"
5. Patty Griffin – "Waiting For My Child"
6. Emmylou Harris – "Far Celestial Shore"
7. Michael McDonald – "Freedom Highway"
8. Glen Hansard – "People Get Ready"
9. Mavis Staples & Aaron Neville – "Respect Yourself"
10. Ryan Bingham – "If You're Ready (Come Go With Me)"
11. Widespread Panic – "Hope In A Hopeless World"
12. Grace Potter – "Grandma's Hands"

Disc 2:

1. Eric Church – "Eyes On The Prize"
2. Taj Mahal – "Wade In The Water"
3. Gregg Allman – "Have A Little Faith"
4. Mavis Staples & Bonnie Raitt – "Turn Me Around"
5. Mavis Staples, Bonnie Raitt, Taj Majal & Greg Allman – "Will The Circle Be Unbroken"
6. Mavis Staples, Win Butler & Régine Chassagne – "Slippery People"
7. Mavis Staples and Tweedy – "You Are Not Alone"
8. Mavis Staples – "I'll Take You There"
9. Mavis & Everybody – "The Weight"

Latest Coverage