Matthew Sweet and Susanna Hoffs Get Back Under the Covers

Matthew Sweet and Susanna Hoffs Get Back <i>Under the Covers</i>
Back in 2006, Matthew Sweet and Bangles vocalist Susanna Hoffs paired up for an album called Under the Covers Vol. 1. It featured the duo tackling a slew of '60s tracks written by such bands as the Velvet Underground, Love, the Zombies and Fairport Convention. Well, this summer Sweet and Hoffs (aka Sid & Susie) are coming back with Under the Covers Vol. 2, which this time is warping back to the not-as-distant '70s.

Produced and recorded by Sweet and Hoffs, the second instalment in the series features reworkings of 16 tunes ranging from power pop to glam to classic rock and even a bit of prog. Some of the covers on the album include Mott the Hoople's "All the Young Dudes," Carly Simon's "You're So Vain," Big Star's "Back of a Car" and two Todd Rundgren tracks: "Couldn't I Just Tell You" and "Hello It's Me." Also, the duo get a little help from their friends on Fleetwood Mac's "Second Hand News," which features Lindsey Buckingham, and on the Yes song "I've Seen All Good People: Your Move/All Good People," which has Yes man Steve Howe doing a bit of guitar work.

A yet-unannounced tour is expected to come in support of Under the Covers Vol. 2, which is due out on July 21 via Shout Factory. For now, here is the tracklisting: 

1. "Sugar Magnolia" (The Grateful Dead)
2. "Go All the Way" (The Raspberries)
3. "Second Hand News" (Fleetwood Mac)
4. "Bell Bottom Blues" (Derek & The Dominoes)
5. "All the Young Dudes" (Mott the Hoople)
6. "You're So Vain" (Carly Simon)
7. "Here Comes My Girl" (Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers)
8. "I've Seen All Good People: Your Move/All Good People" (Yes)
9. "Hello It's Me" (Todd Rundgren)
10. "Willin'" (Little Feat)
11. "Back of a Car" (Big Star)
12. "Couldn't I Just Tell You" (Todd Rundgren)
13. "Gimme Some Truth" (John Lennon)
14. "Everything I Own" (Bread)
15. "Maggie May" (Rod Stewart)
16. "Beware of Darkness" (George Harrison)