Mastodon/Soulfly/Dillinger Escape Plan Supergroup Killer Be Killed Detail Debut Album

BY Gregory AdamsPublished Mar 10, 2014

Metal supergroup Killer Be Killed, which features members of Soulfly, Dillinger Escape Plan and Mastodon, have begun to unfurl more details behind their long-promised debut album. The self-titled set will arrive May 13 through Nuclear Blast.

As previously reported, Killer Be Killed features a stacked lineup of Max Cavalera (Soulfly), Greg Puciato (the Dillinger Escape Plan), Troy Sanders (Mastodon) and Dave Elitch (formerly of the Mars Volta). For their debut, the band took to Los Angeles' Fortress Studio last fall to record with producer Josh Wilbur (Lamb of God, Gojira).

The newly revealed tracklisting confirms that the album proper will feature 11 songs, while the vinyl version will include a bonus cut called "Ghosts of Chernobyl." Though samples from the set have yet to arrive, the record contains colourfully titled tracks like the Icarus-conjuring "Wings of Feather and Wax," "Fire to Your Flag" and "Curb Crusher."

"It's a bit of Sabbath-y doom, a bit of thrash, a bit of hardcore and punk," vocalist/guitarist Puciato said of the sessions in a press release. He, Cavalera and Sanders apparently all share vocal duties in Killer Be Killed, while drummer Elitch holds down the rhythms.

"Having met, created and recorded an album together, this experience has easily exceeded my initial expectations," Sanders said of working in the group. "The collective energy and mutual respect for one another eased the entire process and has been very therapeutic for me."

Up above, you'll find the self-titled set's album art, as prepped by Demon Hunter member Ryan Clark.

Killer Be Killed:

1. Wings of Feather And Wax

2. Face Down

3. Melting Of My Marrow

4. Snakes of Jehova

5. Curb Crusher

6. Save The Robots

7. Fire To Your Flag

8. I.E.D.

9. Dust Into Darkness

10. Twelve Labors

11. Forbidden Fire

12. Ghosts Of Chernobyl (vinyl bonus track)

Latest Coverage