Mastodon Announce Box Set Behind 'Remission'

Mastodon Announce Box Set Behind 'Remission'
Though Mastodon fans are likely still wrapping their brains around the metal favourites' just released Once More 'Round the Sun, they're going to have to brace themselves for a new remastered vinyl repress of the band's debut LP, Remission.

Though Relapse Records has whipped up a few pressings of the album since issuing the original batch back in 2002, a press release confirms that it will have a newly tweaked, limited-edition box set version out on August 5. The double-LP release has been fully remixed by the album's producer, Matt Bayles, with Ed Brooks handling the remastering duties.

The reissue doesn't add any tracks to the runtime, though this time around the D-side will feature an etching. Additionally, the records will be up for grabs on various colours of vinyl, with 1,500 pressed on red vinyl, 500 on gold and 100 on clear.

Visually, Paul Romano's stunning horse painting has now been given a 3D embossing, while a 24-page booklet featuring previously unseen artwork will be packaged in the custom box. A deluxe pre-order also comes with a Remission slip mat for your turntable.

A CD digipak will also be delivered, and also come packaged with the 3D embossed cover, foil stamp and additional artwork. You'll find the rest of the pre-order information over here, and a trailer for the set down below.


1. Crusher Destroyer
2. March Of The Fire Ants
3. Where Strides The Behemoth
4. Workhorse
5. Ol'e Nessie
6. Burning Man
7. Trainwreck
8. Trampled Under Hoof
9. Trilobite
10. Mother Puncher
11. Elephant Man

Read an interview with Mastodon's Brann Dailor here.