Marnie Stern Announces New Full-length, Shares First Single

Marnie Stern Announces New Full-length, Shares First Single
Progressive rock maven and legendary finger-tapper Marnie Stern is set to release her third full-length album October 5 through Kill Rock Stars, the Washington-based label responsible for her first two albums. If the task of titling records gets easier with experience, third time's a charm for the 34-year-old NYC guitarist. Simply titled Marnie Stern, Stern's latest effort marks a refreshing departure from 2007's In Advance of the Broken Arm and 2008's - wait for it - This Is It and I Am It and You Are It and So Is That and He Is It and She Is It and It Is It and That Is That.

Stern's boyfriend, Matthew Flegel of Calgary art rockers Women, plays bass on the new album, alongside longtime collaborator and drummer Zach Hill of Hella. Mars Volta mixer Lars Stalfors supports.

"I wanted to pay more attention to the delicate and subtly layered spaces in between sound and just make things louder and fuller where I didn't on my last two records," Stern said of the new album, adding, "It's direct and honest and real. I'm no longer taking cover under guitar lines or yelping vocals."

Stern has shared the record's first single, dubbed "For Ash," which you can download here

Marnie Stern:

1. "For Ash"
2. "Nothing Left"
3. "Transparency is the New Mystery"
4. "Risky Biz"
5. "Female Guitar Players are the New Black"
6. "Gimme"
7. "Cinco De Mayo"
8. "Building a Body"
9. "Her Confidence"
10. "The Things You Notice"