Mark Lanegan Band Return with 'Gargoyle,' Get Josh Homme, Greg Dulli to Guest

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Feb 7, 2017

Three years removed from delivering Phantom Radio, Mark Lanegan has lifted the curtain on his next full-length offering with the Mark Lanegan Band. Titled Gargoyle, the new disc will arrive in April through Heavenly Recordings.

Ten tracks in length, Gargoyle was written and recorded by Lanegan, Rob Marshall and Alain Johannes, and promises "a more expansive progression from the moody Krautrock-influenced electronica textures of his two previous albums." Gargoyle is also set to feature appearances from Josh Homme, Greg Dulli and Duke Garwood.

Along with the record's announcement, Lanegan has shared "Nocturne," placing his gruff vocals front and centre ahead of a shuffling drum beat and layered guitars. You can take it in below.

"I definitely feel like I'm a better songwriting than I was 15 years ago," Lanegan said in a statement. "I don't know if I'm just kidding myself or what, but it's definitely easier now to make something that is satisfying to me. Maybe I'm just easier on myself these days, but it's definitely not as painful a process, and therefore I feel I'm better at it now. But part of the way that I stay interested in making music is by collaborating with other people. When I see things through somebody else's perspective it's more exciting than if I'm left to my own devices." 

Gargoyle is set to land on April 28 through Heavenly Recordings. Read through the tracklisting to hear "Nocturne" in the player below.


1. Deaths Head Tattoo
2. Nocturne
3. Blue Blue Sea
4. Beehive
5. Sister
6. Emperor
7. Goodbye To Beauty
8. Drunk On Destruction
9. First Day Of Winter
10. Old Swan

Latest Coverage