Maritime Return with Human Hearts

Maritime Return with <i>Human Hearts</i>
Milwaukee indie rockers Maritime have been around for nearly a decade, but for some reason, they have never really carved out their own niche. While their peppy pop rock is great in its own right, the band will forever be in the shadow of some members' previous project, much-beloved '90s emo unit the Promise Ring. That could change, however, with the announcement of Maritime's new album Human Hearts.

The collection is the group's fourth full-length and their first for indie imprint Dangerbird (Silversun Pickups, the Dears). A press release states that Human Hearts was recorded in the quartet's hometown at a leisurely pace, providing "blanket-warm ease" for its listeners. That's not to say the collection is ultra mellow. "Annihilation Eyes" is promised to be a "gleaming pop punk gem," while much of the album apparently touts a classic rock sound filtered through the group's patented indie pop sensibilities.

You can download the breezy, new-wave-inflected first single "Paraphernalia" here.

Human Hearts, which marks the group's first album since 2007's Heresy & the Hotel Choir, comes out April 5 on Dangerbird. Check out the tracklisting below and the cover above.

Human Hearts:

1. "It's Casual"

2. "Paraphernalia"

3. "Black Bones"

4. "Peopling of London"

5. "Air Arizona"

6. "Faint of Hearts"

7. "Annihilation Eyes"

8. "Out Numbering"

9. "C'mon Sense"

10. "Apple of My Irony"