Lou Reed and Metallica (aka "Loutallica") Unveil 90-Minute 'Lulu' Tracklist

Lou Reed and Metallica (aka 'Loutallica') Unveil 90-Minute 'Lulu' Tracklist
We didn't think it was possible, but Lou Reed and Metallica's collaborative album keeps on getting crazier. Entitled Lulu, we've seen the grotesque cover art and been told that it's "maybe the best thing done by anyone, ever". Now, the tracklist has been announced, and it presents a new twist: the record is almost 90 minutes long.

This is especially surprising given that there are only ten tracks. Half of the songs clock in at over eight minutes, while the closing "Junior Dad" (yup, the one that made Metallica cry) is more than 19 minutes.

The two artists haven't yet confirmed exactly what formats this epic collection will be released on, but we can't see how all of this music will fit on a single disc, so it looks like this might be a double album.

Lulu was produced by the artists, along with Greg Fidelman (who also mixed the record) and Hal Willner. It's based on songs Reed wrote for a staging of Frank Wedekind's Lulu plays. See the tracklist (and some sprawling song lengths) below.

It's also worth noting that the project's website refers to the collaborators as "Loutallica." Yikes.


1. "Brandenburg Gate" (4:19)
2. "The View" (5:17)
3. "Pumping Blood" (7:24)
4. "Mistress Dread" (6:52)
5. "Iced Honey" (4:36)
6. "Cheat On Me" (11:26)
7. "Frustration" (8:33)
8. "Little Dog" (8:01)
9. "Dragon" (11:08)
10. "Junior Dad" (19:28)