Lou Barlow Details New Solo Album 'Reason to Live'

Watch a video for the effort's first single "Over You"

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Apr 7, 2021

Lou Barlow has announced a new solo album. The Dinosaur Jr. and Sebadoh player will share Reason to Live on May 28 through Joyful Noise Recordings.

The 17-song Reason to Live follows 2015's Brace the Wave. Of course, Barlow's new solo effort will land after he and his Dinosaur Jr. bandmates release Sweep It into Space later this month.

"I had been struggling for a way to connect both my home life and my recorded life," Barlow said of Reason to Live, "but this record is the first time I've integrated that,"

"Over You" is the first song to arrive from the effort, and as Barlow explained, the track is "based on one melody and lyric fragment I captured on cassette back in 1982 or so." Its accompanying video, co-directed with his wife Adelle, draws from that very fragment.

"I talked to my wife, Adelle, about things in our lives that we've never been 'over,'" Barlow said. "We moved from California six years ago, a place that we both loved. We started compiling home videos from our times living there (17 years in my case) and scenes from some '80s movies that were filmed in L.A.

"When we combined the footage it seemed to work with the song. I can't say that I was thinking about anything specifically when I recorded 'Over You,' it came from the general longing of my teenage years, but I can definitely say I miss the Golden State."

Last year, Barlow treated his 2005 album Emoh to an anniversary reissue, while Dinosaur Jr. will release Sweep It into Space on April 23 via Jagjaguwar.

Reason to Live:

1. In My Arms
2. Reason To Live
3. Why Can't It Wait
4. Love Intervene
5. Privatize
6. I Don't Like Changes
7. Clouded Age
8. Over You
9. How Do I Know
10. Cold One
11. Thirsty
12. Maumee
13. Lows and Highs
14. Paws
15. Tempted
16. All You People Suck
17. Act of Faith

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage