Loop Return with Their First New Record in 25 Years

Loop Return with Their First New Record in 25 Years
As Ride become the latest classic shoegaze act to ride the reunion train, Loop have just announced their first new material since 1990's A Gilded Eternity.

Since reforming in 2013, Loop have been playing shows in the last couple of years, and they've apparently got three brand new collections on the way, the first of which is Array 1. It will be out digitally on June 22 and physically on July 24 through ATP.

The record consists of just four tracks, and although this amount to 32 minutes of music, it's still considered an EP. It was recorded at Sub Station Studios in Rosyth, Scotland, with the current lineup of Robert Hampson (vocals and guitar), Hugo Morgan (bass), Wayne Maskell (drums) and Dan Boyd (guitar).

Scroll past the tracklist below to hear opening cut "Procession" [via Stereogum], which rides an ultra-heavy riff for five stormy minutes.

Loop will release their next batch of songs in the fall. We're guessing that next release will be called Array 2. In a statement, Hampson described this series as "one project, with the same concept, delivered in bulletins."

Array 1:

1. Precession

2. Aphelion

3. Coma

4. Radial

Tour dates:

06/18 Hebden Bridge, UK - Trades Club
06/19 Liverpool, UK - Kazimier
06/20 Glasgow, UK - Barrowlands *
06/28 London, UK - Roundhouse
07/02-04 Keflavik, Iceland - ATP Festival

* with Mogwai