Leanne Betasamosake Simpson Announces New Album 'Theory of Ice'

Listen to lead single "OK Indicts" now
Leanne Betasamosake Simpson Announces New Album 'Theory of Ice'
Since dropping her last full-length album, f(l)ight, in 2016, Michi Saagiig Nishnaabeg musician, writer and scholar Leanne Betasamosake Simpson has been writing up a storm, having released three books since then, with a fourth on the way. Fans of her music need not feel left out: Simpson has just announced her latest album, Theory of Ice, due March 12 via You've Changed Records.

The album combines Simpson's vivid, naturalistic lyrics with lush electroacoustic soundscapes, and was created by Simpson alongside bandmates Ansley Simpson and Nick Ferrio and producers Jonas Bonetta (Evening Hymns) and Jim Bryson. The album also includes a cover of Willie Dunn's "I Pity the Country" and additional vocals by John K. Samson.

To celebrate the album's announcement, Simpson has shared lead single "OK Indicts." In a statement, she said, "'OK Indicts' is a collaboration with Jim Bryson and was inspired by the murder of the OK glacier in Iceland. It was written from the perspective of glaciers, permafrost, frozen lakes, and snow, in the midst of climate chaos."

Last August, Simpson released the Noopiming Sessions EP, composed of four tracks inspired by her latest novel, Noopiming: The Cure for White Ladies. Her next book, A Short History of the Blockade, is due in February from the University of Alberta Press.

Listen to "OK Indicts" below.

Theory of Ice:

1. Break Up
2. OK Indicts
3. Viscosity
4. Surface Tension
5. I Pity the Country
6. Failure of Melting
7. The Wake
8. Head of the Lake

Pre-order Theory of Ice now.