Laura Barrett and José Miguel Contreras Reveal 'Porch Stories' Soundtrack, Premiere New Song

BY Sarah MurphyPublished Jun 4, 2015

Canadian filmmaker Sarah Goodman's latest project Porch Stories shares the interwoven stories of neighbours who are connected through the goings-on on each other's porches. It's ready to debut at the TIFF Bell Lightbox in Toronto on June 19, but before the film hits the screen, the soundtrack will be arriving on June 16 through Hand Drawn Dracula.
The soundtrack was composed by By Divine Right's José Miguel Contreras and beloved Canadian solo artist Laura Barrett, bringing together a blend of kalimba and Spanish guitar to "create a magical atmosphere."
Tracks like "Morning Bikes," "Trinity Bellwoods" and "Hamburgers, Parades and Questions" seem to solidify the film's Toronto setting, while the 13-song collection is appropriately bookended by "Porch Story" and "Porch Jam."
As previously reported, the duo also make their acting debuts in the film, with Barrett playing Emma (a musician who puts her musical career on hold for marriage) and Contreras taking on the role of Gabriel (Emma's "rootless, couch-surfing" bandmate and ex-lover who shows up on her porch).
You can see the full tracklisting to the Porch Stories soundtrack below, and scroll past that to hear the exclusive premiere of the delicate, dramatic and dreamy lead single "You."
Porch Stories:
1. Porch Story
2. Morning Bikes
3. Trinity Bellwoods
4. You
5. Late Night on the Porch
6. Think Emma, think!
7. Impossible to find
8. Dig! Uerania, dig!
9. Uerania's song
10. The Neighborhood
11. Hamburgers, Parades and Questions
12. Twisted Crystalline
13. Porch Jam

Latest Coverage