Kylesa Uncover Rarities for 'From the Vaults, Vol. 1'

Kylesa Uncover Rarities for 'From the Vaults, Vol. 1'
There's still no official word on when deceptively melodic crust experimenters Kylesa will deliver a follow-up to their swirly and punishing 2010 platter Spiral Shadow, but the group will at least uncover some rarities for the upcoming From the Vaults, Vol. 1.

A press release for the compilation, which arrives November 20 through Seasons of Mist, explains that the 12 songs that fill the tracklist are a mixture of covers, alternate takes and a brand new song called "End Truth," all assembled as one convenient package. The band have apparently been working on compiling the project for a while now, and considering the Vol. 1 tag at the end of the album title, it appears the group have more goodies in store.

"This project has been a labour of love," guitarist-vocalist Phillip Cope said in a statement. "We have spent over a year going through old songs, covers, etc. and collected those we felt went well together; remixing and finishing them up. We didn't want to release something just thrown together so we put a lot of thought and time into it. I am really happy about how this came together. I think it is a good representation of Kylesa's different styles from early on to present day."

Diehard fans will also be glad to know that beyond this stop-gap release, Kylesa are currently preparing to hit the studio to record the follow-up to Spiral Shadow. Not much else is known about the impending LP, but it's expected to drop sometime in 2013.

In the meantime, check out Kylesa's gloom-and-doom take on Pink Floyd's "Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun" in the player down below.

From The Vaults, Vol. 1:

1. Intro  **

2. Inverse  **

3. 111 Degree Heat Index ***

4. Between Silence and Sound II ***

5. Paranoid Tempo  **

6. End Truth *

7. Bottom Line II ***

8. Wavering **

9. Bass Salts **

10. Drained **

11. Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun **

12. Drum Jam **

* New

** Previously unreleased/limited availability

*** Alternate Version